top of page

Palace of Versailles

If you read my previous blog post, I'm occasionally I'm able to convince my best friend/roommate/boyfriend to pay attention to me overseas (by this I mean I get to travel with him for his work). On even rarer occasions I con him into doing sight seeing or touristy things while we are on the road!

Late June brought us to Versailles, France where we checked out the Palace of Versailles.

This place is absolutely breathtaking! It was build by Louis XIII in 1623 as a hunting lodge but became the massive palace it is today by incredible additions by Louis XIV in the 1660s and 1670s.

The Hall of Mirrors (above) contains a total of 357 mirrors.

This place lacks very little when it comes to #TBT luxuries... The gardens of the Palace of Versailles cover 30,000+ acres. The gardens included 400 sculptures and 1400 fountains, contained more than 5,000 pieces of furniture, and 6,000 paintings, there were more than 200 servants there to serve the King of France and even the chamber pots (yes, the toilets) were made of silver.

Big fan of gardens? Well Versailles has some....and by some I mean over 1,976 acres. On the grounds there are more than 200,000 trees, 210,000 flowers planted annually, more than 50 fountains, 620 jets of water and took nearly 40 years to complete.

I should add that wasn't my first rodeo here in Versailles. I visited the place when I was about 10 years old, needless to say I appreciated it a little more this time around...and my sense of style has clearly diminished over the past decade.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page